McFadden – Everton vs Charlton – 2007

18 01 2011

Jamie Maher tweets under the alias @ThoseFeet and is well worth a follow. The accompanying Those Feet website will be up and running shortly. This is his personal account of a cracking goal by James McFadden …


.

I spent a huge amount of time debating with myself about which goal I should choose. I flirted briefly with Rivaldo’s overhead kick against Valencia  but ended up on a less spectacular, though still scintillating, goal from James McFadden. Though the Rivaldo goal is incredible I couldn’t think of enough of a personal connection I felt with it. I believe if you can remember every detail about the moment when the goal was scored then it’s hard to look beyond it, so have opted for a heart over head option.

Let me set the scenario up for you here. I’m an Everton fan and, much to the annoyance of my girlfriend, don’t like missing many games and serious bargaining is usually needed to talk me out of attendance. However on 15th April 2007 I would not be in attendance at Goodison as I was currently at the start of a year of travelling and was sat in a hotel room in Thailand. My girlfriend presented me a strong case as to why I wouldn’t be able to attend this game, the pure fact that it was 6,000 miles to the ground swayed me in the end I think.

Undeterred I was sat in my room, appropriately with a bottle of Chang, and about to watch the game on TV. It was a fairly forgettable match but an 80th minute goal from Joleon Lescott looked to have secured a win, and I was a happy man. A 90th minute equalizer from Darren Bent left me to briefly be a less than clement individual. Though deep into stoppage time James McFadden, bless his little cotton socks, popped up with a spectacular winner.

I love this goal so much because of the brief moment when McFadden feigns and plays the ball over Bougherra, everybody holds their breath at moments like these. Football is often very divisive, and detrimentally so, but moments like this can briefly bring people together. A moment of pure inspiration and magic, the fact that it’s from a player of not huge ability makes for it to be even more special. I am a strong believer that the fine lines played in the sport are what brings people in. As the ball hit the back of the net I celebrated emphatically. This included picking up my girlfriend in celebration but accidentally hitting her head on the ceiling, thus  neatly proving why this is not always a pastime best shared. I honestly don’t know how she puts up with me.

Anyway, I digress. An impressive thing to note is that the game against Charlton was McFadden’s first game in over three months after he’d been out with a foot injury. Could a return like this be a sign of things to come? Sadly not. McFadden has always cut a very frustrating footballer to me. His glimpses of brilliance are often lost in huge spells of total mediocrity and misplaced passes. True to form McFadden didn’t score for the next eight games and left a year later with very disappointing stats of 119 games played, 11 goals scored. When a player can produce a goal like this, or like his long range stunner against France then why can’t he produce the simpler aspects of the game, such as, passing perhaps? But nethertheless I’ll always have this sublime goal to remember him by, and remember it well I will.

A few days later I was stood in front of The Grand Palace, a place of incredible beauty. It’s an 18th Century palace covered in gold and bejeweled with emeralds and while gazing upon its magnificence my mind wandered and I smiled to myself. My girlfriend said “it’s amazing isn’t it?” and I quietly thought to myself, “Yes it was. It was fucking brilliant.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 01 2011
Rob Evette

Haha. V. funny little blog. Nice one. COYB

18 01 2011
wyn

as a fellow Blue and devoted Evertonion I too was at the game and equally believe this to be a jaw dropping goal that would have got rave reviews if so Man U or Chelski player had scored it– just confirms the press and media have no time for “the grand old team”

wyn

Leave a Reply

